Land of the Rising Sun

3 01 2009

Who woulda thunk it but Japan is officially a hot bed of producers. I started paying more attention to  what was coming out of there after seeing that Japanese label Hyde-Out signed Emancipator. If jazzy hip  hop instrumentals appeal to you, feel free to start the jockin along with me. There was the very solid DJ Okawari album earlier this year, stuff from Nomak, more Nujabes, and a lot of people I’m hearing of for  the first time. Too bad their CD’s are like 30 bucks since they gotta be imported. I’m still waiting for  Amoeba to have the Emancipator CD; regular price or import price I’ll be pickin up a copy for sure. I’m  still not a fan of their rappers but maybe they’ll grow on me.

I managed to tag and rename a fair amount of the stuff I’ve picked up over the last 6 months but got  nowhere near listening to even a quarter of it. I’ve got plenty of time on the bus to do some listening  though and please believe the headphones are on at work constantly. And since Raymond likes to show off  his frivolous purchases such as shoes, here bees the headphones the ups man dropped off for me yesterday. Fock yea.

Here’s some highlights of the music I’ve gotten to so far:

Kenichiro Nishihara – Humming Jazz (Album Preview)
Never heard of this dude before but after hearing a few songs I’m a fan.

Smooth J – Lovers
I’m still making my way through this cd, but hot damn. This might be on rotation for a while.

Common Market – Crucible
Yea I’m late with it.

Blue Scholars – Coffee & Snow.
Sabzi is just too good, that’s all I have to say.

Slumdog Millionaire – Escape
Go peep this film if you haven’t yet. If you need a lil eye-candy motivation just look up Freida Pinto (I wasn’t able to find any pics Raymond would consider adequate to post on the blog).

I’m feelin lazy so I just looked up the youtube links. Lemme know if you want the actual mp3’s.

Also, if anyone is interested in a new music player/mp3 manager, go try Songbird from the Firefox peoples.  Just because I’m sick of this you must use iTunes bullshit.

That’s about it,its almost back to LA for me. Time to start puttin in some work at work and find a car  finally. It was good to be back and to see that everyone’s doin well. Only thing I didn’t get to do  unfortunately was hang out with Mr. Drunk Raymond again, I guess there’s tonight but we’ll see. He doesn’t  like to commit to anything be it women or plans with friends. I’m also saddened that I missed Pablo’s  shenanigans over new year’s eve, sounds like some “top-tier hilariousness” to use one of his terms. Its  two posts in a row for me now, I think for the first time in the history of SOP. We’ll have to see if Raymond  steps up and stops it from being three in a row.

Hope everyone’s new year is off to a good start, toodles.

-tpain

Actions

Information

One response

15 01 2009
youngchol1

i’m digging that new blue scholars cut.

since this blog was on the japanese producers tip, i sent you a few links of my favs to your e-mailzzz, check it check it i think you’ll enjoy

Leave a Reply

